Mission Team

Within the Argo program, the BGC-Argo mission team acts as a scientific committee of BGC-Argo national representatives, which provide recommendation and guidance for the progressive development and implementation of a BGC- Argo program in the context of the larger global Argo array.

Terms of Reference

Ken Johnson

Senior Scientist/Chemist

  • Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
  • 7700 Sandholdt Road, Moss Landing, CA USA
  • johnson at mbari.org
  • Personal web page

Hervé Claustre

CNRS senior scientist

  • Laboratoire d’Océanographie de Villefranche / OMTAB
  • IMEV-SU-CNRS , Villefranche-sur-mer, France
  • herve.claustre at obs-vlfr.fr
  • Personal web page
  • Research Gate

Catherine Schmechtig

CNRS Research Engineer

  • OSU Ecce Terra, SU-CNRS
  • Paris, France
  • catherine.schmechtig at obs-vlfr.fr
  • Research Gate

Arne Körtzinger

University Professor / Prof. Dr.

  • GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research,
    Department of Chemical Oceanography
  • Kiel, Germany
  • akoertzinger at geomar.de
  • Personal web page

Giorgio Dall’Olmo

Earth Observation Scientist

Sandy Thomalla

CSIR Principal Scientist

Haily Wang

Associate Director/Senior Research Specialist

Tetsuichi Fujiki

Senior Research Scientist

  • Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Research Group,
    Research and Development Center for Global Change (RCGC),
    Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)
  • Yokosuka, Japan
  • tfujiki at jamstec.go.jp
  • Personal web page

Katja Fennel


Fei Chai


  • Second Institute of Oceanography,
    State Oceanic Administration of China
  • Hangzhou, China
  • fchai at sio.org.cn
  • Research Gate

Pete Strutton


  • Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, University of Tasmania
  • Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
  • peter.strutton at utas.edu.au
  • Personal web page

Stephen C Riser

Professor - Physical Oceanography

  • University of Washington
    The School of Oceanography
  • Seattle, WA, USA
  • riser at uw.edu
  • Personal web page